Focus: Directed Attention

 
 
Some mornings I find it difficult to focus. I have routines, but they are ever in flux. I get up and want coffee. But then I think maybe I should go run. I have been thinking of setting office hours, so I can be more focused on writing. I have been blogging five days a week now for three weeks. It is nice to have a rhythm going.

I have been running to get ready for a race that a friend invited me to run with her. It actually includes biking as well, so they call it a biathalon. Talk about needing focus. But I’m not sure if that’s really what I have been after these past few weeks. Sure I have a goal to get ready. So I run or bike every other day, challenging myself to push a little further each time. But the focus is not on the race, as much it is on plodding along and conditioning my body to be ready for the race.

I need both the goal of the race, and the focus of the moment. It’s a strange mix, but it does keep me going.
 
 
 
 

Picture

 
 
 
Remember that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize. You also must run in such a way that you will win.  All athletes practice strict self-control. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run straight to the goal with purpose in every step. I am not like a boxer who misses his punches.   I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should.

1 Corinthians  9:24-27 NLT

5 thoughts on “Focus: Directed Attention

  1. A great reminder, Kel, of my need to FOCUS. I am one of the most distracted people on the planet! ANd I love the Scripture you quoted! Oh that my focus would be on the prize of CHrist! I like your idea of office hours, too. Need to establish those. tHank you so much for your prodding!Lynni

I love a dialogue. Be the first to start a discussion!

