GOD+ART (DAY 15)

Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,
    and your labor for that which does not satisfy?
Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good,
    and delight yourselves in rich food.
Incline your ear, and come to me;
    hear, that your soul may live;
and I will make with you an everlasting covenant,
    my steadfast, sure love . . . (Isaiah 55:2-3 ESV)

godart015(To see more about the process of today’s collage, click here.)

To say that I haven’t enjoyed collaging each day, would be a lie. To say that the ideas and the work come easy every day, would also be a lie.

To practice the presence of God is something I cannot do in my own effort.

I like what Brother Lawrence said about his own ability to keep this practice:

“That when an occasion of practising some virtue offered [itself], he addressed himself to GOD, saying, ‘LORD, I cannot do this unless Thou enablest me; and that then he received strength more than sufficient.”

Our physical bodies gain strength from fueling ourselves with food, and moving our bodies with exercise. I like how Scriptures apply the metaphor of eating to our spiritual well-being. To taste GOD means to eat in and of His presence, to absorb His spiritual nutrients. He places before us a smorgasbord of words, nature and ART to enjoy and to see His handiwork.

He gives us each other to share in His steadfast, sure love. Sweet communion with the Father, Son, Holy Spirit and the Church. God is good!

What rich food has God provided for you recently?

What are you hungering and thirsting for?

 

I love a dialogue. Be the first to start a discussion!

