Summer is for . . . Listening!

Yet the Lord pleads with you still: Ask where the good road is, the godly paths you used to walk in, in the days of long ago. Travel there, and you will find rest for your souls. But you reply, “No, that is not the road we want!” (Jeremiah 6:16 The Living Bible)

photo-005

I often find myself quoting the above Scripture, but stopping short. Not taking the whole trip down memory lane. I love thinking about being at a crossroads or on the edge of a new adventure. I savor the wise counsel to consider the “ancient” paths or think before I take off in my own strength. Surely, I want rest for my soul. And I am tempted to just camp out there, but the verse goes on to shine light on the reason that rest evades me at times and the good path gets neglected.

I want a different path.

It’s embarrassing to admit, but I’d rather take the path of least resistance. To just get on the conveyor belt path that takes me from point A to point B with no obligation to think, deliberate or choose. But something in my soul knows there is more.

And summer beckons me to make plans, to write a list of fun places to visit, to seek out adventures, knowing that the best adventures are the ones where Jesus takes the lead. The first thing on my summer list is to listen. Listen for His voice saying this is the way, walk ye in it.

For now, I just want to listen and rest awhile in the presence of our Savior and His deep, deep love. On this the longest day of light, to watch the sunset and linger in the peace, joy, delight and comfort of knowing I am loved by the One who put the stars in the sky and set the seasons on their course.

8 thoughts on “Summer is for . . . Listening!

  1. I can relate to what you say here. I have trouble staying on course. I have some close friends who help keep me headed in the direction where I can find Jesus and His solace,

  2. Kel, once again, I think we’re on the same Holy Spirit wave length…. my post is in my heart and in my head, but the gist of it is getting back to listening to Jesus’ voice… Perfect words here, friend.

    1. Cecelia- We are all like sheep who get distracted 🙂 So thankful for friends and for Jesus with His shepherd’s heart that gets us back on His path…

    2. Jody- I love how God speaks to us and gives His dear children similar messages…his invitation to listen seems to be a theme for me this season…

  3. Thanks for sharing your wisdom, Kel! I think too that sometimes in our frenetic world, we don’t really want to stop and listen and rest. We think we want rest for our souls, but sometimes it just is easier to soldier on, to keep moving, not to take the time to stop, rest, and listen. When I do, sometimes I don’t like what I hear. Listening, really listening, means opening myslf up not just to God, but to my true self, with what might be lurking beneath the surface. It shouldn’t be a scary thing, but sometimes is, because I forget that God won’t condemn me, but cleanse me. He will give me true rest when I come to Him for help and forgiveness.

    1. Lynni- I appreciate your insights here and tying them into God’s ever waiting forgiveness and love…He is so patient with my wandering tendencies…glad you were able to identify yourself on the second post…I wondered who was commenting with such wonderful wisdom and experience with God’s grace 🙂

I love a dialogue. Be the first to start a discussion!

