Faith

My soul faints with longing for your salvation,
but I have put my hope in your word. (Psalm 119:81 NIV)

godart019

Brother Lawrence would have applauded how each one practices God’s presence in their own style and voice.

As I worked on this collage, I once again limited myself to a random collection of magazine images.

So it was interesting when a clock, a loaf of bread, a framed landscape, and a girl munching on a chicken leg presented themselves to me. I glued them down, and found some words to add, as well as a Scripture quote from a recycled greeting card.

The figure on the tight rope was an image of a bendable wooden drawing model, and his precarious pose made me think to sketch in a tight rope. Faith is like that sometimes, balancing between thinking I need to manage my own life and relying on the Bread of Life.

When Jesus is the DREAM of my life, He orients my life “in a whole new light.” Trusting in the one who never changes, makes my life new, yet stable at the same time.  I am so grateful that He invited me into this life of dreaming and praying and praising and living and loving in color and collage.

How is your FAITH being expressed these days?

6 responses to “Faith”

  1. Oh, my goodness- I love this Kel! Wow…collage is so my love language, glue ,paper and scissors are my friends…and paint I am still learning and figuring but love your expression here! Beautiful!

  2. I love what you wrote, Kel, but I’m so bummed. For the last several days, I cant’ get any images on my computer, so I have no idea what you have depicted visually. OUr computer, I fear, is on its last wobbly legs. But I know whatever you have created is lovely!
    Collage on! Yes!

    • Thanks Lynni for your encouragement! I was having some trouble uploading and seeing pictures myself…it might have to do with which browser you use to read your email…I have to keep switching between Internet Explorer, Mozilla and Chrome…computers are very finicky if you ask me!

I love a dialogue. Be the first to start a discussion!